Day 19: Choosing Again

I twirl at the seam

between this world and that,

trusting goodness to carry me.

My shoes may splinter,

but I have to believe

it is possible to live there.

I have to look at my teachers

not as distant demi-gods,

but as echoes of who I might become.

I have to believe

I was born to give light

where shine is covered in dust.

I have to believe

I can be in brief moments

that brave, that kind.

It’s what takes my mind

from the deep abyss

off the edge of

this precipitous dance.

 

 

P.S. If you like, check out my Etsy store and support The Humane League!

https://www.etsy.com/ca/shop/SoftSpotAccessories?ref=l2-shopheader-name

Leave a Reply

